Bertold Hummel Competition                                                                                                                                                                                                          Deutsche Version

Between 24th and 26th November 2017 the Bertold Hummel Foundation is organising, in collaboration with the Hochschule für Musik Würzburg the eighth Bertold Hummel Competition for instrumental students of all music universities and conservatories in Belgium, Germany, Austria, Luxemburg, the Netherlands and Switzerland. The instrumental specialty in this competition is Saxophone.
With this competition, the Bertold Hummel Foundation and the Hochschule für Musik Würzburg wish to pass on to younger generations of
musicians an active involvement with the work of the composer Bertold Hummel (1925-2002). With his wide-ranging œuvre, he is considered an important representative of German cultural life in the second half of the 20th century. Throughout his life, Bertold Hummel was energetically engaged in promoting upcoming young musicians, not only in his position as President (later Honorary President) of the Hochschule für Musik Würzburg, but also in many other cultural/political bodies in Bavaria and beyond the borders of the Federal Republic of Germany.

A word of welcome
The eighth Bertold Hummel Competition is taking place in Würzburg in 2017 and is dedicated to classical saxophone literature with an emphasis on the music of the 20th and 21st centuries. I was very pleased to take over the patronage of this competition, having of course been closely linked with Bertold Hummel on an intellectual and personal level from his beginnings in Freiburg and later during his work in Bavaria. May the  reputation of the competition named after him  in turn spread to the music universities and conservatories of German, Austria, Switzerland and, this year, of Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherlands and attract many young artists – bringing joy to the performers and honouring the memory of an important creator and teacher of music.

Munich, 5th March 2017

Prof. Dr. Hans Maier
Former Bavarian Minister of State for Education and Culture.


1. Prize 2500 Euro

2. Prize 1500 Euro

3. Prize 1000 Euro


Prof. Dr. Bernd Clausen President of the Hochschule für Musik, Würzburg - Chairman

Prof. Arno Bornkamp Conservatorium van Amsterdam

Prof. Lutz Koppetsch University of Music, Würzburg

Prof. Gerald Preinfalk University of Art of the City of Graz

Prof. Jan Schulte-Bunert University of Music and Theater, Rostock / Akademie für Tonkunst, Darmstadt

Competition Repertoire

1st Round (max. 20 minutes)

Bertold Hummel: Tre Pezzi for Saxophone in Eb solo, op. 81e (1979)
one work from the following group:
Gallois Montbrun: Six Pièces Musicales d’Etude pour Saxophone Alto et Piano (1954) - movements 1-4
Robert Muczynski: Sonata for Alto Saxophone and Piano, op. 29 (1970)
Claude Pascal: Sonatine pour saxophone et piano (1947)
Erwin Dressel: Bagatellen für Saxophon und Klavier (1938)
Paul Hindemith: Sonate für Alt-Saxophon und Klavier (1943)
François Rossé: Jonction pour saxophone alto et piano (1999)
Johann Sebastian Bach: two movements from a suite for cello solo or from the partita for flute solo in a transcription of your own choice (4 - 5 minutes)

2nd Round (max. 30 minutes)

Bertold Hummel: Sonata brevis für Alt-Saxophon und Klavier op. 95a (1991)

one work from the following group:
Jacques Ibert: Concertino da Camera pour Saxophone Alto et Piano (1935)
Fernande Decruck: Sonate en Ut # pour Saxophone Alto et Piano (1943)
Paule Maurice: Tableaux de Provence - Suite pour Saxophone Alto et Piano (1948-1955)
Heitor Villa-Lobos: Fantasia for Soprano Saxophone et Piano (1948)
Edison Denisov: Sonata for Alto Saxophone and Piano (1970)
Bernhard Heiden: Sonata for alto Saxophone and Piano (1937)
one work of your own choice for saxophone solo, composed after 1970 (max. 8. minutes)

Competition venue: Chamber Music Room (Kammermusiksaal) of the Hochschule für Musik Würzburg, in the building by the Residence (Gebäude an der Residenz)


Friday, 24th November 2017

from 9.30: Clarifying rehearsals with pianist Irén Seleljo

11.00-12.00: Registration of participants in the entrance area of the Chamber Music Room (Kammermusiksaal)

12.00: Drawing of lots for the order of performance

14.00: Welcoming of participants and jury / 1st Round

Saturday, 25th November 2017

2nd Round

14.15-14.45 Carlos Gimenez Martinez

14.45-15.15 Christina Bernard

15.15-15.45 Alexandra Pichler

15.45-16.15 Mateusz Pusiewicz


16.30-17.00 Joaquin Sáez Belmonte

17.00-17.30 Irina Yudaeva

17.30-18.00 István Szaller

18.00-18.30 Andreas Mader

followed by announcement of the prize winners of the competitions

Sunday, 26th November 2017

11.00 Matinée with the prize winners in the presence of the Patron, Prof. Dr. Hans Maier

All events are open to the public!

Requirements for participation

The competition is open to all students who at the time of the Competition are matriculated at a music university or a conservatory in Belgium, Germany, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Austria and Switzerland. By registering they confirm that they will keep themselves free of all professional obligations and be present at the competition venue. Both rounds are public. The prize winners will be announced after the end of the second round. The jury’s decisions regarding the results of the competition are final and not subject to appeal. Eliminated participants have the opportunity to receive advice from the jury. The prize winners undertake to perform at the closing Matinee. They do not however have any right to a fee. The organiser of the competition is not liable for damage to persons or property.

Closing date for applications was on October 31st, 2017


The Bertold Hummel Competition is organised by the Hochschule für Musik Würzburg in collaboration with the registered charity Bertold Hummel-Stiftung Hamburg / business office: Heimhuder Straße 6, 20148 Hamburg / Tel 040-41350491 / / contact person: Thomas Hummel

Previous prize winners of the Bertold Hummel Competition

Prize winners 2015 - Flute

Prize winners 2013 - Piano

Prize winners 2011 - Bassoon

Prize winners 2009 - Organ

Prize winners 2007 - Percussion

Prize winners 2006 - Violoncello

Prize winners 2005 - Violin

Zurück zum Seitenanfang   -   Zurück zur vorigen Seite

Deutsche Version