commentary to opus 59b

Back to work register

Sonatina for Bassoon and Piano, op. 59b (1976)

I. Allegro moderato

II. Andante sostenuto

III. Finale - Allegro  


Duration: 10 Minutes

Publisher: Zimmermann Musikverlag Frankfurt ZM 21080 / ISMN M-010-21080-3



For the 2nd movement Andante sostenuto, Bertold Hummel prepared the following analysis:

Formal structure:
A bars 1-19
B bars 20-33
A┤ (Reprise) bars 34-45
Coda bars 46-48

A = 16 bars, always with 2-bar phrases which undergo melodic development. The bars 18+19 are a reminiscence of the first two bars.
B = from bar 20 on, a new idea gains influence above a pedal-point A. The bars 25+26 reflect on the first bar of the movement.
From bar 27 on, the 2nd idea appears above a pedal-point D. The bars 32+33 reflect once again on the first bar and are seen as a bridge to A┤ = Reprise, lasting 12 bars, now based on a fundamental note G.
Coda = The Coda finds its way back to the original tonality and leads the melodic material of bars 1+2 in augmentation and with the accompanying function of the beginning to a closing pp.

Back to previous page

Deutsch - Franšais