commentary to opus 48

Back to work register

Moments musicaux for Oboe, Clarinet and Bassoon, op. 48 (1973)







Frist perfromance: August 28, 1973, Bad Mergentheim, Albert-Schweizer-Saal,
Andrej Cieslewicz / Peter Luehr / Oscar Bohorquez

Duration: 10 Minutes

Publisher: N. Simrock Hamburg-London (Boosey & Hawkes)
Parts: ISMN M-2211-0873-9
Pocket score: ISMN M-2211-0042-9



Nordwest-Zeitung, 8th August, 2003

Bertold Hummel's five attractive "Moments musicaux", written with a portion of wit for Oboe, Clarinet and Bassoon, are miniatures and playful creations put together effortlessly with motifs, musical flourishes and rhythms. They were performed with great delicacy by Franziska von Oyen, Dimitri Ashkenazy and Otis Kl÷ber.

Melos 1974/I

Hummel's five movements for Oboe, Clarinet and Bassoon live from their joyous freshness of sound and combine an easily grasped formal structure with all nuances of an expressive world of sound characteristic of Divertimentos and Serenades in which neither Nocturne-like passages nor Scherzo and Rondo elements can be missing. The particular charm of the miniatures is that these traditional gestures do not result in a neo-classicism but in a rather lyrical atonality. Furthermore, a generous portion of virtuosity has been mixed in, giving the international ensemble from the Weikersheim Chamber Music Class plentiful opportunities to demonstrate a sovereignly masterful unanimity.

Mergentheimer Zeitung, 30th August, 1973

The instruments begin as if they want to tell each other something, put questions and in the end leave these open. Other short movements are witty, perceived as full concerted sound, as strongly rhythmical movement above a light ostinato in Bassoon and Clarinet with a very gentle close, and with a final lively Allegro. Eberhard Buschmann had supervised the preparation of this work well and with attention to detail. As a result, the "Moment musicaux" were so successful and reaped abundant applause.

Back to previous page

Deutsch - Franšais