commentary to opus 101e

Back to work register

Fantasia for Organ, opus 101e (1996)


First performance: November 8, 1996, Graz, Kirche Mariehilf
Karin Tausch

Duration: 5 Minutes

Publisher: Editions Combre C05909 / ISMN: 9790230359092


On 8th November, 1996, the première of "Musikalischer Kettenbrief" ("Musical chain-letter") took place in the Abendmusiken der Pfarrkirche Mariahilferplatz (evening music in the parish church Mariahilferplatz) in Graz, following a suggestion by the organist Herbert Bolterhauer (*1964) and the composer Thomas Daniel Schlee (*1957).
Based on a ten-bar theme, the following composers submitted contributions:

Peter Michael Hamel: Title music
Joseph Reveyron: Adagio
Bertold Hummel: Fantasia
Jean-Pierre Leguay: "Sur un theme de Alexander Schrei"(On a theme by Alexander Schrei)
Sylvaine Martin-Kostajnsek: Graz-Kettenbrief (Graz chain-letter)
Thomas Daniel Schlee: Voile (Sail)
Pierre Cogen: Cortège (Procession)
Theo Brandmüller: "Ex oriente lux" (Light from the east)
Petr Eben: Momento d'orgao (Moment for organ)

These works are also included in the volume for organ "Enluminures", published by Editions Combre.


Preface (Editions Combre)

At the request of Herbert Bolterauer, organist at the church of Mariahilf in Graz (Styria, Austria), nine composers have written short pieces on a theme supplied by Alexander Schrei.

The title of this collective work, Enluminures (Illuminations) illustrates the way in which the composers have individually coloured varying aspects of the
thematic material. Enluminures is thus a multicoloured reflection of organ writing in the second half of the 20th century.

The work received its first performance at the Mariahilf church in Graz, on November 8, 1996.

Thomas Daniel Schlee

Back to previous page

Deutsch - Français