commentary to opus 81b

Back to work register

Fünf Anrufungen for percussion solo, op. 81b (1983)






Percussion: Vibraphone, 2 Tom-toms, 2 Bongos, Snare Drum, 5 Templeblocks, 4 Cymbals, Sizzle Cymbal, Gong (min. 20 cm), Tam-tam (min. 28 cm), 2 Claves, Woodblock

Première: january 29, 1984, Friedrichshafen, St. Columban
Bernd Kremling

Duration: 13 Minutes

Publisher: Zimmermann Musikverlag Frankfurt ZM 2590 / ISMN: M-010-25900-0

Video: Works by Hummel on youtube

Five Invocations for solo percussion were written in 1983 and are intended for a sacred space. They are very personal invocations with different characters.
In the last invocation, the chorale "Aus tiefer Not schrei ich zu Dir" is the structural starting point of the composition. A very subjective interpretation of the "de profundis".

Bertold Hummel


Percussive Notes / Fall 1987

Five Invocations op. 81b

This is a five-movement collection of solos for multiple percussion: vibraphone, tom toms, bongos, snare drum, temple blocks, and several metallic sounds. Each instrument is identified by graph symbols in the parts. Stick and mallet indications are quite clear, though it should be mentioned that a bass bow is needed. The movements contain interesting color and dynamic contrasts and will require careful preparation as there is no suggested setup. The print is exceptionally clear and this should contribute to the work's becoming an excellent addition to the solo and degree recital literature. I recommend it highly.

George Frock

Back to previous page

Deutsch - Français