commentary to opus 57c

Back to work register

Christ ist erstanden (Christ is risen) for organ, op. 57c (1975)

Introduction - Intermedium - Toccata


Duration: 3 Minutes

Publisher: Bonifatiusverlag, Paderborn, printed in "Orgelstücke zum Gotteslob, Teil II"


Hummel's Toccata on the Easter hymn "Christ ist erstanden" is written for direct use in liturgy and church service.
Hummel integrates the four opening lines of the cantus firmus (and emphasises four times the initial or title line) in a seven-section rondo variant in the scheme A-B-A'-B'-C-B"-A". The melody part is heard up to this point in the descant; only the acclamation "Kyrieleis" is as fifth line entrusted to the pedals in the quasi-coda (bars 31-33) following the descending whole-tone tetrachords of the C section (bars 16-21). The rondo character results thus not from the substance of themes and motifs but rather from the construction techniques of the sections with their diverse metres. They have in common the unisons of right and left hand as well as - as far as the A and C sections are concerned - the pedal. Within this framework, further space is created, in addition to the whole-tone tetrachords mentioned above, by the fourth-seventh arpeggios in the A sections and in the parallel major triads in the B sections, each of which closes with a pedal solo whose sequential fourths are derived from the first line of the chant.

Joachim Dorfmüller (in "Cantus-firmus-Toccata zwischen Tradition und Avantgarde", Kunst und Kirche 3/82)

Back to previous page

Deutsch - Français